Home » Book Stuff » Favorite Terrifying and Creepy Characters in Literature

Favorite Terrifying and Creepy Characters in Literature

Best. Halloween costume. EVER.

Happy Halloween dear readers! On this, my favorite of all holidays, I would like to stop and take a moment to recognize the 6 (get it? Like 666? I’m so clever) characters in books who I think are just deliciously terrifying. Scary, creepy, and downright twisted, these six never fail to send shivers of fear down my spine…which, because I love horror, makes me very, *very* happy.

Patrick Bateman (American Psycho)

Oh, Patrick Bateman. It isn’t really a good sign when the reader loses count of how many people the protagonist rapes, tortures, kills, engages in necrophilia with, and eats during the course of an almost 400 page book…but at least you get to learn a whole lot about 80s music in the process, right?

Humbert Humbert (Lolita)

A sympathetic pedophile who lures readers into liking him and feeling sorry for him when his sexual relationship with a 12-year-old girl doesn’t work out? I’d say that qualifies as a creepy character.

Hannibal Lecter (The Silence of the Lambs)

Just your run of the psychiatrist slash cannibalistic psychopath serial killer. I will never think of liver and fava beans the same way again because of him.

Alex (A Clockwork Orange)

My diabolical namesake from Anthony Burgess’ classic novel, Alex is a teenage psychopath with a penchant for robbing, assaulting, and raping people for his own personal amusement. A product of his society who gets his in the end, this juvenile delinquent and his eye(s) won’t be forgotten anytime soon.

Jack Torrance (The Shining)

“All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy.” I think “dull” is just about the last adjective you’d use to describe Jack Torrance, but what do I know. Maybe for him going crazy and trying to murder his wife and son is an average run-of-the-mill day.

Big Brother (1984)

Omniscient, omnipresent, omnipotent, and utterly terrifying, Big Brother is hands down the scariest character I have *ever* read. This is in large part because it is far too easy to draw comparisons between the fictional Big Brother and very real things going on in the world today. Gives me the heebie jeebies just thinking about it!

What are your favorite terrifying and creepy characters, dear readers? Is Nurse Ratched from One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest on your list? Or maybe the clown Pennywise from It, or Voldemort from the Harry Potter series? Write me and let me know, and in the meantime, have a very happy Halloween!

One thought on “Favorite Terrifying and Creepy Characters in Literature

Leave a Reply

