Home » Zimmy Sunday » Zimmy Sunday #3: The Zimfather

Zimmy Sunday #3: The Zimfather

IMG_6145

Happy Sunday dear readers! If you’re in the states and celebrating the holiday weekend, then this is an extra special Sunday because it’s actually more of a Saturday. Woohoo! Gotta love those three day weekends, especially when the weather (here, anyway) is so gorgeous! It’s almost nice enough out for a hydrophobic dog like Zim to want to jump in the pool (keyword there being almost, and yes, my golden retriever, a breed that is known for being a water breed, is hydrophobic. Pet owner tip: don’t let your father throw the puppy into the pool to help him overcome his fear of water. They don’t necessarily know how to swim, and, as it turns out, it traumatizes them. A lot.) 

This week’s Zimmy Sunday post will be relatively brief, mostly because I want to take advantage of the three day weekend too. As I mentioned in the George R. R. Martin Epic Quote of the Day post earlier this week, I finished A Storm of Swords, and it *completely* blew my mind. The last third of the book was ridiculously intense, especially the last 350 pages, which, of course, were the pages I read in one marathon session. I can’t wait for season 4 to start next year and see how David Benioff and D. B. White are going to approach the ample dramatic material. I won’t spoil anything for the non-readers, but I will say this: the Red Wedding was just the beginning. I haven’t made too much progress on A Feast For Crows yet because I’ve been doing other things (like seeing Alt-J, which I’ll get into more at the end of this post), but I’m hoping to use my temporary obsession with Martin and his epic fantasy series to my advantage and have it done within the week.

Work is progressing slowly on the novel, but progress is in fact being made (finally!). Writing longhand seems to be working, even if it is exponentially slower than typing it out on the laptop. Still haven’t made it past the first third of one chapter, but I’ll take what I can get. I finally figured out how to introduce a key character’s perspective, which is going to be probably the second biggest twist in the novel. I’ve been trying to figure out how to do this for months now, so it was really great to have that breakthrough on Wednesday, after which I followed Joss Whedon’s example and treated myself to some chocolate to reward myself for having that epiphany. Now if only I could figure out how to finish the rest of this chapter…I really want more chocolate!

Other than that, I went to go see British indie band Alt-J at the Fox Theater in Oakland on Friday, and it was ammaazziinnggg. Oh man. It’d been a good long while since I’d been to a live show, so that coupled with the fact that Alt-J are fantastic live meant that it was a real treat. If you haven’t heard of them, you should definitely check them out. They have a very distinct and interesting sound, kind of like if you combined Gregorian chanting with contemporary indie.

What’s even more interesting for me personally is their lyrics. While each of their songs has an overall story its telling, it seems like more often than not the particular words and phrasings the singer uses have been chosen based on how they sound versus their meaning. For example, Taro (my personal favorite), which is about the deaths of two war photographers, Gerda Taro and her husband Robert Capa, in 1937 and 1954 respectively,  starts out like this:

Indochina, Capa jumps Jeep, two feet creep up the road
To photo, to record meat lumps and war,
They advance as does his chance — very yellow white flash.
A violent wrench grips mass, rips light, tears limbs like rags,
Burst so high finally Capa lands,
Mine is a watery pit. Painless with immense distance
From medic from colleague, friend, enemy,
foe, him five yards from his leg, From you Taro.
Do not spray into eyes — I have sprayed you into my eyes.

That’s all for this week’s Zimmy Sunday, enjoy the long weekend!

Leave a Reply

