Home » Epic Quote of the Day » Epic Quote of the Day: Stephen King

Epic Quote of the Day: Stephen King

Today’s Epic Quote of the Day is a little tidbit of advice (albeit, a slightly dramatic tidbit of advice) that all adverb-happy writers should take note of from one of the most successful writers of today. After all, do you want to read some equivalent to this in every book? “I merrily walked slowly down the street, gazing happily at the children playing joyfully in the park.” I think not.

 

stephen-king

5 thoughts on “Epic Quote of the Day: Stephen King

  1. Bless Stephen King.
    The most overused adverb of our day may be Really. As in “What we’re really trying to do here is establish the facts of the case.” or “The answer to that question really is a puzzle.” or “I really believe that we’re in for a rough time.”
    I started counting “really’s” in a 20-minute presentation by a colleague a few months ago and lost count (admittedly my math skills are less refined than my adverb identification skills).
    One Saturday morning, on a walk with the dogs, listening to NPR on earphones, I attempted to count “really’s” used by two professional broadcasters. More than 10 in an hour. Too many.
    One must ask Why? Are we so uncertain of our assertions that we need to underscore that they are, in fact, really, truly, genuinely accurate? Is it so important to convince others that the topic under discussion is the Real Deal, not phony? Are repeated “really’s” a sign of insecurity? Or just bad habit?
    To use but one example, the first, from above, isn’t “What we’re trying to do here is establish the facts of the case” sufficient? If it’s not, evidence, not an adverb, is needed.
    Really.

    • As someone who has a bad habit of over-using adverbs in my own writing and speech, I completely (see, adverb!) agree. I catch myself and my peers using “really” and “literally” all the time, and while sometimes it might be a sign of insecurity I think it’s more a side effect of contemporary speaking styles. We’ve started using “really” more frequently in every-day speak, the same way we say “if I was” as opposed to the grammatically correct “if I were,” or answer “I’m good” as opposed to “I’m well” when someone asks how we are. This happens so much that nobody even notices that they’re doing it or that it might not sound all that great, and that desensitization, in turn, carries over into more professional outlets, like NPR. Just one theory, though.

  2. Pingback: Epic Quote of the Day: Mark Twain | The Bewildered 20-Something Writer

  3. Hmm it seems like your blog atee my first commnent (it waas extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I had written and say, I’mthoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I as well am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to everything.
    Do you have any tips and hints for beginner blog writers?
    I’d definitely appreciate it.

    • Yeah, the first comment never went through, I’m sorry about that! WordPress is good, but clearly fallible. I’m glad you enjoy the blog, that makes me very happy to hear. Um, in terms of tips and hints, just write about things that you find interesting and that you think other people might not know about and will find interesting as well. There’s so much information out there, it’s easy for things to fall through the cracks, so don’t let it! Making sure you use your personal voice while blogging is important as well; you’re the only one who’ll sound like you, after all, so make sure you play that up and don’t start sounding like an automaton.

Leave a Reply

