Home » Zimmy Sunday » Zimmy Sunday #4: Indiana Jones and the Temple of Zim

Zimmy Sunday #4: Indiana Jones and the Temple of Zim

IMG_6203

A dopey looking dog with his tongue hanging out looking like he’s dying from heat? Must mean it’s Zimmy Sunday! 

This week’s Zimmy Sunday will be a teeny bit briefer than most, primarily because I want to go out and enjoy what is likely going to be one of the last warm Sundays we have left until fall hits. Though, I can’t lie, I wouldn’t mind a little bit of crisp fall air right now; if you couldn’t tell by Zim’s picture, it is *hot* here!

First up, I am about 250 pages away from finishing A Feast For Crows. It is taking much longer to finish than I thought it would, and while normally I’d say that this was because I have a habit of underestimating how long it takes to finish these books, this time that’s not the case. The reason why book four in the A Song of Ice and Fire series is taking so long to finish is, unfortunately, because it just isn’t all that good thus far. It’s very disappointing, actually.

The problem so far has been that originally A Feast For Crows and A Dance With Dragons were supposed to be one book, but George R. R. Martin wrote so many pages that he had to split it into two. Because of this, A Feast For Crows deals primarily with things that happen in Kings Landing. This means that there are *no* chapters about Tyrion, Daenerys, or Jon Snow, because those chapters have been saved for A Dance With Dragons. Sansa and Arya show up occasionally (though their chapters are few and far between, and when they do show up they are noticeably shorter than the others), and additional new perspectives are added, like Brienne and some Iron Islanders, as well as those of characters from Dorne (a region that had never been explored in the series before this book), but Cersei and Jaime are the dominant characters of this book.  And while this is the first time in the series that we get chapters from Cersei’s perspective, I at least was disappointed by them and find myself struggling to get through them. I’ll go into greater detail about why this is the case in my final review of the series that’ll get posted after I finish A Dance With Dragons, so keep an eye out for that.

Zim feels the same way I do about Cersei's chapters: merrr

Zim feels the same way I do about Cersei’s chapters: meh

I’ve been assured by friends who’ve finished A Feast For Crows that it ends in a satisfying way, however, so I’m looking forward to ending it in the next day or two so I can compare its ending to the explosive ending of A Storm of Swords (which I absolutely loved, and so far is the best book in the series, hands down).

In terms of writing, not much progress has been made with the psychopath novel, and most of my writing has been devoted to getting into the habit of journaling more frequently in an attempt to follow my own advice from my post earlier this week “Journals and Diaries: Good For Writers, or Just an Outlet for Angsty Rants?” That said, I did come up with a new idea for a completely different novel that I liked enough to actually stay up late writing out. Now, I am not going to even think about writing this new one until I finish the novel I’m working on now (one at a time, one at a time), but it did make me very happy to come up with another new idea, because I haven’t had one that I liked enough to write down in a very long time. As silly as this is, for a little while there I thought that maybe my creativity had dried up and I wasn’t going to have any new ideas, so it was very nice to prove myself wrong on that front.

That’s all for this week, I’m off to go work on some editing projects I have lined up for friends and read outside in the sun…that is, after I watch some football. I can’t lie, I’ve missed spending Sundays watching guys slam into each other over and over again like a bunch of animals, all because of a weirdly shaped ball. It’s a guilty pleasure of mine that I’m 100% okay with having. Go Patriots and Niners!

Leave a Reply

