Home » Book Stuff » Retail Therapy: Book Find of the Day (9-27-13)

Retail Therapy: Book Find of the Day (9-27-13)

IMG_6302

Dear readers, I have been waiting for this day for what seems like forever now, and it’s finally, *finally* here! While out running errands, I swung by the local bookstore and picked up my copy of Jhumpa Lahiri’s second novel The Lowland, which came out this Tuesday. It’s been ten long years since her first novel, The Namesake, was published, and although she did publish her short story collection Unaccustomed Earth five years ago, what I’ve really been waiting for has been her next novel. While I have many favorite authors (who has only one??), Jhumpa Lahiri is and always will be in my top five for one simple reason: The Namesake made me to want to be a writer. I read it my freshman year at UC Davis, and was the reason why I took my first undergraduate creative writing workshop. To this day when I get really, really stuck on my own work I open up my copy and let Lahiri’s lyrical prose inspire me all over again.

So, moral of the story, I am super duper excited to read this and plan on wrapping up the other two novels I’m reading right now (Bridget Jones’s Diary and A Visit from the Goon Squad) so that I can sink my teeth into this one. It’s going to be a long reading weekend, dear readers, and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Leave a Reply

