Home » Writing Stuff » How I’m Prepping for NaNoWriMo

How I’m Prepping for NaNoWriMo

Brace Yourselves

As I mentioned earlier this week, I have decided to do National Novel Writing Month for the first time ever this year in an attempt to break out of my writer’s block funk and hopefully finish a *very* rough working first draft of my novel. I am still worried, however, that the end result come December will be 50,000 words of unsalvageable word vomit rather than something that I can edit and fine tune into a manageable first draft. In order to avoid this, I’ve come up with a preparation strategy that I’m implementing this month in order to make sure I make the most out of NaNoWriMo and accomplish the goal I’m setting out to accomplish.

Reading 

This is the easiest, albeit most time consuming, part of my prep plan for NaNoWriMo. The very first thing I did when I decided that I was actually going to do NaNoWriMo and take it seriously was to put together a reading list for myself for the month of October, because I needed to get back into the mindset of my psychopathic characters. I am not a psychopath (shocker, I know), so writing very close third person narratives from the perspective of psychopaths isn’t exactly second nature for me. In the past, the easiest way for me to put on this “second skin,” if you will, has been to read books that deal with psychopath or borderline psychopath characters, because it allows me to step into their shoes and see the world through their eyes. Granted, these characters and their stories are always very different from my own, but just getting a general gist of how these characters think, feel, and act helps put me mentally in the psychopath end of the personality spectrum. This gives me a better sense of how my own characters would respond if faced with similar situations, which in turn gives me more insight into my characters overall.

Here is the list I am going to tackle this October:

196541

Perfume~Patrick Süskind

no_country_for_old_men.large

No Country for Old Me~Cormac McCarthy

In Cold Blood

In Cold Blood~Truman Capote

talented-mr-ripley

The Talented Mr. Ripley~Patricia Highsmith

9780770437855_custom-0fec8d6bec6f0261063ff3be14ce66895270b9a5-s6-c30

The Dinner~Herman Koch

I will also be watching the movie versions of all the novels that’ve been adapted. If you know of other novels featuring psychopath, borderline psychopath, or potentially psychopathic characters, *please* let me know because I would love to add them to my list and read them during my writing breaks next month.

Writing Out Plot and Chapter Outlines

3ruzat

I go back and forth on whether or not I think writing from outlines is better than writing free form. There are pros and cons to both strategies, and I think at the end of the day it all depends on what strategy works best for you as a writer. In the past I have written free form, and been very pleased with the results; in fact, most of my novel’s draft thus far was written in free form with little to no outlining done.

So why am I switching it up and writing plot and individual chapter outlines? Because right now free form isn’t working for me. At all. Not having even a general idea of what I want to have happen next is causing me anxiety as opposed to liberating me creatively, and has been a major contribution to my writer’s block this entire summer. In fact, the last few chapters of my thesis (i.e. the novel’s first draft) were actually written using outlines, because even then writing free form hadn’t been working for me. So, since I’m trying something new already with the whole quantity over quality approach that NaNoWriMo’s all about and I’ve had good experiences with outlining in the past, I figured I’d bring it back to help me prep for November.

That said, I am in essence marrying the concept of outlining with free form because the outlines I’m making are very loose and only give me general ideas of what I want to have happen in what chapter and in what part of the story. I am also including several possible alternatives for different key plot points in the overall plot. This gives me a lot of wiggle room to play around with the content and doesn’t make me feel like I’m tied down to any one particular idea in case the story starts deviating in a different direction than the one I’ve originally intended for it.

This is something that I personally think is *very* important. Stories tend to take a life of their own when they’re first being written out (or at least they do for me), and oftentimes they end up going places and doing things that you didn’t expect them to. In my experience, if you don’t let them go in the direction they want to go in, they tend to not be as good as they could be. So, if you do end up outlining, never feel like just because you’ve written something down in that outline it absolutely has to happen, even if your instincts are telling you that that might not work anymore, because chances are your instincts are right.

Writing a Character Diary

Dear-Diary_c_141795

This is a writing exercise that I’ve done in the past with other pieces and found to be very beneficial. If you are unfamiliar with this exercise, it’s very simple: write a diary from the perspective of each of your primary characters.

There are a number of ways you can keep a character diary. One is that after writing in your own journal or diary for the day (which, if you remember, I’ve said is a very good habit for writers to get into), open up a separate notebook and write about what would’ve happened happened in your character’s day that day, using his or her voice and perspective in the fictional reflections. You can also write about real events in your life but analyze them from the perspective of your character rather than your own.Another alternative that I’m a big fan of is just doing a stream of consciousness style entry from your character’s point of view; this one in my experience tends to give the most insight into your character’s deeper, subconscious layers, and helps ensure that you’re crafting a round character as opposed to a flat one.

I’m personally playing around with all these different strategies with my main character’s diary, as well as jotting down notes about her different personality quirks and preferences, because my thesis adviser once told me that a writer should know everything about her character, down to what type of shampoo she prefers using. For instance, I’ve written down that my character Rebekka prefers floral scents to musk, her favorite animal is the hummingbird, and she picks her nail polish off when she’s nervous or stressed out. Many of these details likely won’t make it into my novel, but it gives me a better picture of who she is as a person and how she’ll react in whatever situation I throw her into.

Reviewing What I’ve Already Written

This is my least favorite part about prepping for NaNoWriMo, which’s why it’s at the end. As I mentioned earlier, I’ve already written and somewhat edited the first third of my novel, which I turned in as my Masters thesis this past May. The problem, however, is that I haven’t been able to make myself go back and re-read what I’ve worked on, mostly because re-reading my drafts *always* makes me cringe, even the polished drafts, because I always come across some part that is just absolutely atrocious and I’m left wondering why I ever thought that that would be a good thing to write down. But, unfortunately, much of the unfinished portions of the story are dependent on this first part, and so I have no choice but to go back and review what I’ve already written, even though I know my reaction is going to be the same as Mr. Bean’s.

How are you preparing for NaNoWriMo, dear readers? Is there anything you’d recommend I do that I haven’t included here?

9 thoughts on “How I’m Prepping for NaNoWriMo

  1. I’ve also started my prep for my first ever Nanowrimo because I’ve gotten a bit blocked on my works…I promise I’m not copying.

    My preparations are similar to yours. I’m writing a more detailed outline than I ever do (though it is in very rough draft form just now as I start to figure out what the plot will actually do). I’m also writing detailed character bios for four main characters (and probably the antagonist as well) and smaller ones for other players. Not doing the diary idea though but I thought if I had enough time I might do small flash fiction pieces in different situations for them to get a feel for how they would act.

    I’m not brave enough to review draft yet mainly because I haven’t finished a proper one before (the one I have is too much of a shambles because there was no prep before hand!).

    I have also told my fiance so he knows when i say I am behind my wordcount and to leave me alone I mean it!

    • Ooh, I really like the flash fiction idea! I hadn’t even thought of that, flash fiction pieces can be great for figuring out characters. I might have to copy you on that one 😀 Best of luck with your prep and in hitting that word count! Fingers crossed that both of us can get unblocked by December 🙂

    • Thank you for sending me this post! I loved it. Research is so important for all writing, especially historical fiction like yours, but it can be a real pain in the butt to do it while you’re in the middle of trying to write. Very smart to do the research in advance!

  2. I too am prepping for my very first time at NaNoWriMo. I think it will be a very exciting experience and if all goes well, I hope to do it every year 🙂 I can’t wait until November. My preparations are very similar to yours. I’ve created a reading list of similar genre pieces to what I will be writing. I think this is essential. While I’ve written a lot of shorter pieces in the genre I’m dabbling in this year, I’ve never done longer works in it. I’m also creating a loose outline – I usually do free form writing, but I’ve noticed when I try to write longer projects, I always fail because I have no idea where my story is going. So, I plan to create a loose outline of general ideas that could happen in my story. Some of them will probably not be used, but I think it will give me a strong variety of options come November.

    A couple of other things I’m doing is using the character lists NaNo has provided on the blog. I really need to develop my MCs. So, I might “borrow” your character diary idea. It sounds like it could really help me out. Another thing I’m doing is getting my playlist together. I know I’m going to want music to write to, but I’m obviously not going to have time to be creating playlists come November. So, I’m preparing them now. And finally, I’m creating a network of writers. I know come November I’m seriously going to need some support when my back is against the wall and I can’t figure out how to reach my daily word count. So, if you ever feel like you need the support, feel free to get in contact 🙂 I’m always open to new writing buddies!

    • Haha borrow away! If I didn’t want other writers to try out character diaries for themselves, I would be greedy and selfish and not tell anyone about it 😉

      I’ve had a similar issue with free form writing with longer pieces; when I don’t have at least a basic outline my chapters tend to go off on tangents and get a bit unruly. Sometimes this ends up being a good thing (I’m a big fan of letting the story evolve the way it wants to evolve), but more often than not it just ended up being a hot, hot mess. Let me know if the playlist strategy works, I’ve tried that in the past but found that while it gets me in a particular emotional state I end up listening to the lyrics instead of focusing on my writing. I’ve since switched to instrumental music, especially soundtracks, but those don’t get me “in the mood” the same way.

      I would like that very much! Writers need to stick together and support each other. This profession is far too tough to not have a support network in place haha 🙂

  3. Pingback: Zimmy Sunday #8: Cloudy with a Chance of Zims | The Bewildered 20-Something Writer

  4. Pingback: Midweek Cuteness: Dogs Reading | The Bewildered 20-Something Writer

  5. Pingback: Thoughts on Perfume | The Bewildered 20-Something Writer

Leave a Reply

