Home » Employment Stuff » A Bewildered 20-Something’s Goals for 2014

A Bewildered 20-Something’s Goals for 2014

Happy (very) belated New Years dear readers! I hope all of your holidays were fantastic and filled with plenty of quality time with your loved ones. I know I’ve been a terrible blogger recently and have been slacking a *lot* when it comes to posting, but there have been reasons I swear!  Namely, I’ve been trying to figure out what I’m going to do with my bewildered 20-something self in the new year, which was surprisingly more difficult to figure out than I thought it would be. Is it possible to have a quarter life crisis before you’re 25 (rhetorical question, please don’t say no)? Well, either way, I *finally* put together my list of goals for 2014, and seeing as I’ve owed you a post for weeks now, dear readers, I figured I’d share them with you.

Get a day job

This is my number one short term goal right now, and the main reason why I haven’t been posting here lately. I took time off work-wise after finishing up with graduate school because I wanted to make progress on my novel, ideally finishing the first draft. There was always a deadline for that time off, however, and that deadline was January 1, 2014. While I still haven’t finished the first draft, I’ve made enough significant progress by the new year that I felt comfortable putting the novel on hold for the next few weeks while I prioritized job hunting. It is now January 13th, dear readers, and the hunt is still on, but hopefully I’ll snag something soon so I can check this one off my list!

Finish the first draft of my novel

This is my number one long term goal right now. As I mentioned above, the novel is currently on hiatus so I can focus on job hunting. As soon as I get a job, however, it’s back to business with my psychopaths, so hopefully you’ll be getting lots of posts of me whining about how hard fiction writing is sooner rather than later! Ideally I’d like to have the first draft done by summer, maybe early fall, and be pretty far into the second draft by this time next year. Fingers crossed on this one!

Figure out a schedule (and stick to it!)

I have been trying to figure out a good blogging/reading/writing/job hunting schedule for months now, and have yet to find one that has both worked in terms of productivity and in terms of me actually sticking to it. I’ve been experimenting with different schedules the last couple of weeks, though seeing as its taken me this long to post this post, the word’s obviously still out on this one.
Read every day

I’m sad to admit, dear readers, but I’ve been slacking on my reading the last few weeks. I’ve only finished one book all month, The Hunger Games, and all my other reading projects have fallen by the wayside. I am *not* okay with this. Reading inspires me to write, but more importantly it gives me an escape from life’s stresses, which in turn keeps my anxiety at bay. It’s vital for my peace of mind that I make this a bigger priority in the weeks to come, seeing as job hunting is a very stressful endeavor for me and I’d like to stay sane through this process.
Write every day

I started making myself write every day this past fall for the first time ever, and with a few exceptions here and there I was able to do it. I’ve found that this works much better than my previous writing strategy, which was to just write when the muse struck. It took a good long while to get used to doing this, however, so even though I’m not working on the novel right now I’m still going to keep doing this, because I’m worried if I don’t I’ll fall out of the habit. This means that I’m going to be doing a lot of journaling and a lot of miscellaneous flash fiction pieces in the coming weeks, and who knows? Maybe I’ll find some new story ideas through this process.
Re-structure the blog

Along with just being genuinely busy the last few weeks because of the holidays, this has been one of the main reasons why I haven’t been posting as of late, dear readers. As 2013 came to an end, I found myself becoming more and more dissatisfied with the posts I was putting up on here, both in terms of content and quality. As my mentor from undergrad pointed out to me, the blog had become a writing blog on all the ways to avoid actually writing. Whoops. Since that wasn’t my original intention with this blog, I’m going to re-focus the content here on writing and all the things associated with writing (although there might be a few posts on fashion accessories here and there, because I had so much fun putting those together!).

Learn the stock market and how to do basic HTML coding

Random, I know, but these are two things that I’ve been wanting to do for a good long while now and I figure why not make 2014 be the year I actually buckle down and learn them? I can’t be job hunting 100% of the time, so I might as well still be productive and learn something useful when I ‘m taking breaks instead of watching Bravo or Law and Order SVU marathons.

Start a new writing project

I love my novel, I swear I really do even though I complain about it constantly, but working with psychopaths day in and day out was downright exhausting by the time January 1st came along. In order to keep myself from getting burned out once I do get back to working on my novel consistently, I want to have at least one other light project going on that I’m doing on the side. I’ve got a few ideas jostling around in my head right now that I’ve started writing down in my notebooks, all of which are potential candidates because they are (gasp) light hearted and not dealing with murderous psychopaths. We’ll see on this one, though; I haven’t always been very good at juggling two creative projects at once, and if the new project starts interfering with my productivity on the novel I’ll have to put it on hold.

 

So there you have it, dear readers. Those are my 2014 goals. What are your goals for this year? Write me and let me know!

 

5 thoughts on “A Bewildered 20-Something’s Goals for 2014

    • Me too! I’m glad I’m doing it again, though I probably won’t be posting quite as frequently as I was before.

  1. I’m with you on a few goals – finding a job after I graduate and being consistent with reading, writing, blogging, etc.
    I want to finish writing the first book of my fantasy duo and have it agent-ready by the end of the year. We’ll see how that works.

    =)

    • Those are great goals, if I do say so myself 😉 Best of luck with them, especially getting the fantasy manuscript ready 🙂

Leave a Reply

